top of page
Maurice headshot.JPG

Maurice Herlihy has an A.B. in Mathematics from Harvard University, and a Ph.D. in Computer Science from M.I.T. He has served on the faculty of Carnegie Mellon University and the staff of DEC Cambridge Research Lab. He is the recipient of the 2003 Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing, the 2004 Gödel Prize in theoretical computer science, the 2008 ISCA influential paper award, the 2012 Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize, and the 2013 Wallace McDowell award. He received a 2012 Fulbright Distinguished Chair in the Natural Sciences and Engineering Lecturing Fellowship, and he is fellow of the ACM, a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, the National Academy of Engineering, and the National Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 2022, he won his third Dijkstra Prize.

AZS Headshot Tree (1).JPG

Alfred Spector

Dr. Alfred Spector is a Visiting Scholar at MIT whose career began with innovation in large scale, networked computing systems (at Stanford, as a professor at CMU, and as founder of Transarc) and then transitioned to research leadership (first leading IBM Software Research, subsequently Google Research, and then as CTO of Two Sigma Investments). In addition to his managerial career, Dr. Spector has lectured widely on the growing importance of computer science across all disciplines ("CS+X"), and he has recently completed a book entitled Data Science in Context: Foundations, Challenges, and Opportunities (Spector, Norvig, Wiggins, and Wing; Cambridge University Press; 2022). He is a Fellow of the ACM and IEEE, and he is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, where he serves on its Council. Dr. Spector won the 2001 IEEE Kanai Award for Distributed Computing, was co-awarded the 2016 ACM Software Systems Award, and was a Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholar. He received a Ph.D. in Computer Science from Stanford (Hertz Fellow) and an A.B. in Applied Mathematics from Harvard.

Maurice Herlihy

Moti Young.jpg

Moti Yung

Moti Yung is a Security and Privacy Principal Research Scientist with Google. He got his PhD from Columbia University in 1988. Previously, he was with IBM Research, Certco, RSA Laboratories, and Snap. He has also been an adjunct senior research faculty at Columbia, where he has co-advised and worked with PhD students.

Yung is a fellow of the IEEE, the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR), and the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS). In 2010 he gave the IACR Distinguished Lecture. He is the recipient of the 2014 ACM’s SIGSAC Outstanding Innovation award, the 2014 ESORICS (European Symposium on Research in Computer Security) Outstanding Research award, an IBM Outstanding Innovation award, a Google OC award, and a Google founders’ award. In 2018 he received the IEEE-CS W. Wallace McDowell Award. In 2020 he received the test-of-time award for a paper predicting ransomware co-authored in 1996 in IEEE’s Symp. on Security and Privacy; also in 2020 he received the IACR’s PKC conference test-of-time award for a paper he co-authored in 1998. In 2021 he received the IEEE-CS Woman of the Eniac Computer Pioneer Award. Yung’s main professional interests are in Security, Privacy, and Cryptography. 

bottom of page